Wokingham addict!

.

My name in Eileen Fletcher and I live in Wokingham. A life-long crocheter, I have started doing squares to be made into blankets for orphans in Africa.


I’ve put more information on a separate web page (see the link at bottom of this page) – about these orphans and the wonderful work that was started by a lovely lady called Ronda – which has now touched hearts all around the world. She and other members of her family founded an organisation and web site called Knit A Square (KAS)

I’ve now become totally addicted to making these squares! I find it incredibly therapeutic – and a great reason to sit down and watch a good TV programme (well – that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it!)

I love the fact that every square gets to where it’s needed and will keep a child warm for years to come.

I also joined KAS’s Square Circle Forum and found a community of delightful, friendly  and helpful knitters and crocheters from all around the world.

If you’re reading this and have been inspired – you can simply go to the KAS web site and  and you’ll find all the information you need there to make your squares or items of clothing and send them to Ronda in South Africa

.

Eileen

.

.

Click here to read about the orphans, Ronda and KAS .

.

5 Responses to “Wokingham addict!”

  1. mandy Says:

    hello eileen i was wondering where abouts i could dropped off my donations i am going to knit

    • Eileen Fletcher Says:

      Hello Mandy – there’s no UK Knit a square hub just yet I’m afraid. At the moment items need to be posted to South Africa. All the instructions are on the site: http://www.knit-a-square.com/postal.html. I know that the UK branch of KAS are working on being a hub for items for the UK in order to reduce the postage for people. As soon as I hear anything more I’ll post it on this blog. For the time being I’m letting my items build up for a little while – to see what happens about a UK hub. One of the ideas that’s floating round my mind is if enough people from Wokingham make contact – maybe we could find a way to raise funds for our postage. We’ll see what happens – that’s the reason for the blog – and easy way to keep interested people updated. It’s all very new – I only set it up a few days ago – and you’re the first person to respond. Do keep in touch – let me know how the knitting goes. I’m currently making a KAS cuddle – a sort of mini-sleeping bag for babies. I’ll post a photo on the blog when it’s done.

  2. Mili Kus Says:

    Eileen,
    I’m a KASer and also knit children’s blankets for a local charity. As a fundraiser, I recently sold two of my blankets to a well-to-do lady which will enable me to send about a 15-kilo package to SA. Postal rates from the UK could be higher, however making something to sell in your local market (especially for Christmas) in order to offset your mailing costs, may be an idea.
    Mili K

  3. kersti Says:

    Well, good for you, Eileen. I’m in Alton, and I have knitted squares for KAS, though not as many as I would like. I make no promises about when I’ll get some more done – when it happens, it happens – but the idea of joining forces and investigating the possibilities for a hub can be nothing but good and you’ve got me on board.

  4. Valerie Thorn Says:

    Dear Eileen
    I am a machine knitter and have some yarn that could be used for this project. I would prefer to knit a whole blanket rather than squares.

    I belong to Woodley Machine Knitting Club and our secretary may have already been in touch with you – we have spoken about the charity.

    I first saw your poster at Ashridge Garden Centre and have spoken to Cindy about it.

    Would you be able to let me know the size of the finished blanket.

    Best wishes

Leave a Reply

